A brief history of Burnham FC

Founded in 1878, Burnham FC is the second oldest club Buckinghamshire. We played in the early years, with considerable success, in various leagues, before joining the Great Western Combination in 1948.

The 2012-2013 season without doubt was the most successful in the football clubs history. The First Team won the Evo Stik League Southern Division One Central (Southern League) championship earning promotion to the newly sponsored Calor League Premier Division (Southern League) while our Reserves won the UHLSPORT Hellenic League Division Two East championship at the first time of asking and themselves earned promotion to Division One East where they will now come up against the First Teams of many of last seasons opposition.

We moved to the Wycombe Combination in 1964 and then spent one season (1970/71) in the Reading Combination. In 1971 the club were elected to the Hellenic League winning both the Premier Division and League Cup in 1975/76. We were also twice beaten finalists in the League Cup.

In 1977 the club were elected to the Athenian League and were twice runners-up before the league folded in 1984.

We competed in the London Spartan League in 1984/85 winning both the Premier Division title and the League Cup.

The summer of 1985 bought about the amalgamation of the football club with Hillingdon Borough FC who had lost their ground and were about to fold.

We played in the Southern League as Burnham & Hillingdon FC but reverted back to the former name of Burnham FC in 1987. Season 1994/95 saw us finish bottom, resulting in relegation to the Hellenic League.

After 3 seasons in the Hellenic League finishing fifth, third and again third in 1998/99 the club won both the Premier Division title and the League Cup, thus gaining promotion back to the Southern Football League where we have played since.

Season 2006/07 saw the club achieve their highest league position, finishing 3rd, thus qualifying for the end of season Promotion Play-Off semi final, unfortunately losing to the eventual winners Swindon Supermarine.